Current projects

CentrÉS: Revitalisation urbaine et santé chez les jeunes Sherbrookois

In the wake of urban revitalization projects in Sherbrooke, particularly downtown, the main objective of the CENTRe-ville Équitable et en Santé (CentrÉS) study is to better understand how the physical and social environment of Sherbrooke neighbourhoods  influences the sense of neighbourhood belonging, social connections and well-being among young adults. The project also aims to determine whether these associations differ between social groups.

Neighbourhood environment and social inequalities in health among young people: better understanding mechanisms of action

We analyze data from the Canadian Community Health Survey to (1) describe social inequalities in health in different health behaviours and outcomes (e.g., heavy drinking) among young adults; (2) assess the contribution of the neighbourhood environment  to these social inequalities in health; and (3) explore the mechanisms by which inequalities in the neighbourhood environment contribute to social inequalities in health. "Go-along"and photo-elicited interviews will complement the statistical analyses.

Community resilience in the face of COVID-19

We are carrying out a study in partnership with the Observatoire Estrien du  développement des Communautés (OEDC) to analyze the COVID-19 response among the 9 regions of the Eastern Townships, highlight community resilience factors and establish best practices to better anticipate and respond to future social, economic and health crises.

Evaluation of the Exit Doors Here program

We are conducting a process and outcome evaluation of Exit Doors Here, a program which aims to help women exit the sex work industry through capacity building and action on the social determinants of health such as housing, employment and access to health care. This study is being conducted in partnership with Elizabeth Fry Toronto and the MAP Center for Urban Health Solutions, St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto.

Projets en cours

CentrÉS: Revitalisation urbaine et santé des jeunes de Sherbrooke

Dans la foulée des projets de revitalisation urbaine à Sherbrooke, notamment au centre-ville, l’objectif principal de l'étude CENTRe-ville Équitable et en Santé (CentrÉS) est de mieux comprendre comment l’environnement physique et social des quartiers de Sherbrooke influence le sentiment d’appartenance au quartier, les liens sociaux et le bien-être chez les jeunes adultes. Le projet vise également à déterminer si ces éléments divergent entre différents groupes sociaux.​
 

Quartier de résidence et  inégalités sociales de santé chez les jeunes : étude des mécanismes d'action

Nous analysons les données de l'Enquête sur la Santé des Collectivités Canadiennes pour (1) décrire les inégalités sociales de santé dans différents comportements et états de santé (p. ex., la consommation excessive d'alcool) chez les jeunes adultes; (2) évaluer la contribution de l'environnement du quartier de résidence à ces inégalités sociales de santé; et (3) explorer les mécanismes par lesquels des inégalités dans l'environnement du quartier de résidence peuvent mener à des inégalités sociales de santé. Des entrevues de type "go-along" viennent complémenter les analyses statistiques.

Résilience collective face à la COVID-19

Nous menons une étude en partenariat avec l'Observatoire Estrien du Développement des Communautés (OEDC) qui vise à analyser l‌a réponse des territoires de MRC de l’Estrie à la crise de la COVID-19, à faire ressortir les facteurs de résilience collective et à dresser la liste des apprentissages et bonnes pratiques afin d’être mieux outillés en cas de futures crises sociales, economiques ou sanitaires.

Évaluation du programme Exit Doors Here

Nous menons une évaluation d'implantation et des effets du programme Exit Doors Here qui vise à aider les femmes à quitter l’industrie du sexe via le renforcement des capacités et l'action sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé comme le logement, l'emploi et l'accès aux soins de santé. Cette étude est menée en partenariat avec Elizabeth Fry Toronto et le MAP Center for Urban Health Solutions, St. Michael's Hospital à Toronto.