top of page

Our vision: Healthy, equitable and sustainable cities inclusive of all

Our mission: To conduct rigorous and innovative research to produce knowledge to promote social and health equity among young people so that they can become engaged and resilient citizens, thus supporting the social, environmental and economic sustainability of cities and communities.

Our approaches and themes of interest:
The chair's work lies at the intersection of health promotion, social epidemiology and geography. Combining quantitative methods and qualitative approaches, we aim to generate conceptual, methodological, empirical and intervention-related knowledge concerning two distinct but synergistic fields: the creation of healthy, equitable and sustainable cities and settings, and the health of young people, especially those who are marginalized because of, for example, their socio-economic status, gender, ethno-cultural background, immigrant status. etc.

Adolescent and young adult health

Daily life settings

and urban environment

Program and intervention

evaluation

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences shares Pre. Shareck's profile

Screen Shot 2022-06-17 at 2.30.33 PM.png

Click here to view the video!

Good news!

June 12, 2024: Martine will be a panelist at Vivre en Ville's Rendez-vous Collectivités viables. The theme of the day is “Équité et territoire: Pour des milieux de vie justes”.


May 9, 2024: The action-research project on social development in the Marie-Reine district is in the running for the “coup de coeur” from the CIUSSS de l'Estrie-CHUS 2023-2024 Excellence award selection committee! Congratulations to the entire team! 


April 30, 2024: 1 - Clara Blache-Pichette receives a grant from the "Fonds de recherche du Québec - Société et culture (FRQSC)" for her Master's project.

2. - Victoria Dorimain receives a Graduate Studies Excellence Scholarship from the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMSS) for her doctoral studies and her project entitled “Do socio-ethnocultural factors influence the link between achieving movement recommendations and adolescents' perceived overall health?”.

 

April 26, 2024: The CentrÉS project is nominated for the Hippocrates Prize for innovative, interdisciplinary research projects and initiatives that create value in healthcare!


April 1, 2024: Sienna Longo wins a grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) for her Master's program! Her project will focus on social inequalities in ecoanxiety in young adults. 


November 29, 2023: The second wave of data collection for the CentrÉS study is launched! 


November 1, 2023: Martine had the opportunity to present the preliminary results of the key informant interviews (CentrÉS project) at the Congrès annuel de l'ordre des urbanistes du Québec! A great opportunity for interdisciplinary exchange!


October 26, 2022: The team presented preliminary results from CentrÉS' go-along interviews at the International Conference on Urban Health.
 

February 02, 2022:. We were awarded CIHR funding of $504,900 over 4 years to continue the CentrÉS study. Congratulations to the whole team!
 
December 07, 2021: Congratulations to Aristide, who has been awarded a $10,000 grant from the Institut Universitaire de Première Ligne en Santé et Services Sociaux to support his thesis on green spaces and health! More info here.

About
Contact us

Thank you!

bottom of page

top of page

Notre vision: Des villes saines, équitables, inclusives et durables.

Notre mission: Mener des études rigoureuses et novatrices pour générer des connaissances permettant de promouvoir l’équité sociale et en santé chez les jeunes afin qu’ils puissent devenir des citoyens engagés et résilients, et ainsi favoriser la viabilité sociale, environnementale et économique de nos villes et nos communautés.

Nos approches et thématiques d'intérêt:
Les travaux de la chaire s’inscrivent à l’intersection de la promotion de la santé, de l’épidémiologie sociale et de la géographie. Alliant méthodes quantitatives et approches qualitatives, ils visent à générer des connaissances conceptuelles, méthodologiques, empiriques et en matière d’intervention concernant deux champs distincts mais synergiques : la création de villes et de milieux de vie sains, équitables, inclusifs et durables, et la santé des jeunes, particulièrement ceux qui sont marginalisés de par leur statut socio-économique, leur genre, leur appartenance ethnique ou culturelle, leur statut d’immigrant, etc.

Santé des adolescents et jeunes adultes

Milieux de vie

et environnement urbain

Evaluation de programmes et d'interventions

La Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé partage le portrait de Pre. Shareck

Screen Shot 2022-06-17 at 2.30.33 PM.png

Cliquez ici pour visionner la vidéo!

Bonnes nouvelles!

12 juin 2024: Martine sera panéliste lors du Rendez-vous Collectivités viables de Vivre en Ville. La thématique de la journée est «Équité et territoire: Pour des milieux de vie justes».


9 mai 2024: Le projet de recherche-action en développement social dans le quartier Marie-Reine est en lice pour le prix “coup de coeur” du comité de sélection des Prix d’excellence du CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS 2023-2024! Bravo à toute l’équipe! 


30 avril 2024: 1. - Clara Blache-Pichette obtient une bourse des Fonds de recherche du Québec - Société et culture (FRQSC) pour son parcours de maîtrise.

2. - Victoria Dorimain obtient une bourse d’excellence aux études supérieures de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé (FMSS) pour son parcours doctoral et son projet intitulé « Est-ce que les facteurs socio-ethnoculturels influencent le lien entre l’atteinte des recommandations en matière de mouvement et la santé globale perçue des adolescents? ».

26 avril 2024: Le projet CentrÉS est nominé pour le prix Hippocrate récompensant les projets de recherches innovants et interdisciplinaires ainsi que les initiatives créant de la valeur en santé!


1er avril 2024: Sienna Longo obtient une bourse des Instituts de recherche en sciences de la santé (IRSC) pour son parcours de maîtrise! Son projet portera sur les inégalités sociales en matière d’écoanxiété chez les jeunes adultes. 


29 novembre 2023: La deuxième vague de collecte de données d’enquête est lancée! 


1er novembre 2023: Martine a eu l’occasion de présenter les résultats préliminaires des entrevues avec informateurs-clés (projet CentrÉS) au Congrès annuel de l’ordre des urbanistes du Québec! Une belle occasion d’échanges en contexte interdisciplinaire!


26 octobre 2022: L'équipe a eu la chance de présenter des résultats préliminaires des entrevues go-along de CentrÉS lors de l'International Conference on Urban Health.

02 février 2022:. Nous avons obtenu un financement des IRSC de 504 900$ sur 4 ans pour poursuivre l'étude CentrÉS. Bravo à toute l'équipe!
 
07 décembre 2021: Bravo à Aristide qui s'est vu octroyé une bourse de 10 000$ de l'Institut Universitaire de Première Ligne en Santé et Services Sociaux pour soutenir sa thèse sur les espaces verts et la santé! Infos ici.

About
Nous contacter

Merci!

bottom of page